Skip to content

BAMF MKTG

Social Media | Digital | Technology | Advertising | Mobile

It has been over a month since my initial review of the RockMelt browser and promised a recap, so here it is:

To be honest, a week after my first impressions, I ditched it. Simply because I felt like I was using Microsoft’s Internet Explorer. It was laggy (for me at least), clouted and distracting. I did have a lot of Facebook activity and RSS feeds from 10 different websites which would update on a constant basis. So for the student’s perspective, the consequences were noticeable.

As I would do research for course papers, I would constantly get distracted with updates. Granted it is up to the individual to have self control, but it was if it was taunting me. As I would bore myself with the hours of monotonous research, I had the desire to constantly check on blogs and the latest tech and social media news. However I notice one important factor that determined my frequency of procrastination: “Out of sight, out of mind.” To address this, I simply saw myself using Google Chrome.

However, if I am working on social media, RockMelt brought the convenience of organizing updates, grabbing them instantly and made work easier.

If you are also a Facebook junkie, you like to keep the Facebook Page open. However, if you are chatting via the web page, it will become annoying when you get two notifications of a chat message and a separate window for the chat log.

For the future instalments of RockMelt versions: I would like to make a few recommendations:

  • A “hide all” button to minimize all distractions
  • Integration to other services
  • Optimization of bandwidth
  • Intelligent suggestions – Understand the web content and suggest to the user if they want to share pictures/text/videos
